Stupid Melancholy

Just a blog that talks ’bout my own world

Linux, College, and Others

with one comment

Besok udah mulai kuliah lagi… Musti siap-siap badan nih buat kejebak 3 jam di bus dalam perjalanan PP Rumah-Depok. Oh well, nothing special happened today. I’ve become a watchdog for my house while my parents attended my grandfather’s funeral.

And, I’ve become addicted to Linux. Just downloaded Ubuntu 8.04.1. First impression, it’s really easy to use and somehow I felt that Ubuntu was made to utilize the needs of veteran torrent seeders. I was surprised to find a torrent downloader software in it. nn; But, kinda disappointed with the codec-support. Ubuntu only supports *.ogg extension. Probably because it wants to up held the GPL license (IMHO). And, luckily Ubuntu runs on Debian-based which means that I won’t have hard times using it (Because I’ve been rather with Debian-like Linuxes, thanks to my XandrOS EeePC which is also a Debian-based).

Next on the list to try, is openSuSE 11.00 KDE 4 Live CD. I hope that I’ll have the time to download it. Man, why do openSuSE has to make 3-4 different versions? It’s kinda hard to choose which one to download. I’m thinking of downloading the Live CD with KDE4 interface, and the Internet DVD ISOs next weekend. If I have done it, I’ll tell you about my impression about the new openSuSE.

Written by dnxag4

August 31, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Posted in kuliah, rumah

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To install codecs and other nonGPL stuff in Ubuntu, enter in a terminal:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extra

    openSUSE I think will install a lot of necessary “restricted” stuff with the first update. If you miss a codec it will point you to a site with “one-click-install” stuf for codecs.

    Enjoy your linux!

    alex

    August 31, 2008 at 6:48 pm


Leave a Reply

