Stupid Melancholy

Just a blog that talks ’bout my own world

Lubuntu and Mint LXDE

leave a comment »

Okay, it’sbeen a long time since my last post. And, I jus felt the urge to rant about my experience in using EeePC 900 20 GB. I have had this netbook for more than 2 years now. And I’d like to say that this netbook is still in good condition (apart from its keyboard that is start failing on me).

So, as the title says, I have been using some Linux distros with this netbook. The first one is the official Xandros-based EeePC OS. Then, due to some issues (Japanese language display and IME), I switched to Mint 8 (Helena). After some time, I switched to Mint 10 LXDE and then to Lubuntu 11.04. All of those OS-es are installed on the 4 GB partition, rather on the 16 GB partition. Due to the SSD limited space, I had to uninstall all the unneccessary programs, and sometimes broke the OS in the process and forced me to reinstall.

Right now I am using Lubuntu 11.10 on the 4 GB partition and Mint 11 LXDE on the 8GB SD card which is plugged in to the netbook. I’d say that Mint 11 LXDE is a backup OS that I use to fix Lubuntu 11.10 whenever it got broke. I am learning a lot by using Linux,and I don’t even thought of using Windows again at the moment. Well I’ll try to use Linux most of the time, but when I had to use Windows… I’ll be reluctant to use it just for work only. =_=

Written by dnxag4

October 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Posted in 現実

Leave a Reply

